2006 US Masters Winner

American Phil Mickelson added a second US Masters title to his career winnings. Prior to his first Green Jacket in 2004, Mickelson was given the unenviable title of the “best player never to win a major”. He has certainly put that tag to bed and if he can take the US Open in June and the British Open in July, he will emulate one of the greatest golfers of all time, Tiger Woods, by holding all four majors at the same time!

The 35-year-old left-hander beat South African Tim Clark by two strokes and his closing round of 69 gave him a seven-under-par aggregate of 281. Clark achieved his best-ever result in a major and left defending champion, Tiger Woods, joint third with Retief Goosen, Chad Campbell, Fred Couples and Jose Maria Olazabal.

At one stage Tiger Woods looked to turn up the heat, but he just could not come up with the putts to put the pressure on. “I putted atrociously,” he said. “I am probably going to snap this putter in about eight pieces.” “If I had putted well I would have given Phil a battle.”

At one point in the front nine of the final round there was a five-way tie, but Mickelson never allowed anybody to overtake him and with birdies at the 7th, 8th and 13th his destiny was in his own hands.

Spaniard and twice winner of the Masters, Jose Maria Olazabal, gave Mickelson a bit of a scare when he came charging through the field. He turned in 32 and after three-putting the 11th for a bogey, he followed birdies at the 13th and 14th with a long iron to two feet for an eagle at the 15th.

“Yes there’s pressure,” said 2006 US Masters winner Mickelson, “But it’s what you dream about as a kid and what you work for as a pro.” 

2006 US Masters Golf Winner Phil Mickelson

  • 281 Phil Mickelson 70 72 70 69
  • 283 Tim Clark 70 72 72 69
  • 284 Jose Maria Olazabal 76 71 71 66, Retief Goosen 70 73 72 69, Tiger Woods 72 71 71 70, Chad Campbell 71 67 75 71, Fred Couples 71 70 72 71
  • 285 Angel Cabrera 73 74 70 68, Vijay Singh 67 74 73 71

Will 2006 US Masters winner Phil Mickelson take the title again this year?